Board Members and Reference Group

Board Members

What started as the Group for Women With Secondary Breast Cancer, sponsored by the Women’s Psychotherapy Service, has now become the Advanced Breast Cancer Group Ltd, registered as a charity with the Australian Charities and Not-for-Profits Commission (ACNC).

The Board Members are..



Assoc Prof Dr Jane Turner


Mr Bernard Houston

18 (1)

Ms Pia Hirsch

31 (1)

Mrs Mary O’Brien


Reference Group for the Advanced Breast Cancer Group

Professor Patsy Yates, Faculty of Health, QUT,Acting Director, Centre for Palliative Care Research and Education, Queensland Health

Dr Jane Turner – Senior lecturer, Dept of Psychiatry, University of Queensland

Mrs Mary O’Brien – Group Psychotherapist, Project Manager

Ms Pia Hirsch – Group Psychotherapist, Project Manager

Ms Maria Shorley – Consumer

Dr. Nicole McCarthy – Medical Oncologist, Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital

Dr Chris Pyke – Surgeon, Mater Hospital

Dr Robyn Cheuk – Senior Radiation Oncologist, Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital

Dr Robyn Box, MPhty PhD,  Physiotherapist,  QLD Lymphoedema & Breast Oncology Physiotherapy

Ms Linda T Barrett – Breast Care Nurse, Townsville

Ms Marion Strong – Breast Care Nurse, Toowoomba

Ms Kathy Jones – Breast Care Nurse, Townsville

Mr Michael Bishop, Cancer Care Co-Ordinator, RBWH